Message sent from:

Sylvia Cousins (Chair of Governors)


Committee Member for: Admissions and Curriculum 

Dympna Reed (Vice Chair of Governor)


My name is Dympna Reed, and I am the Vice Chair of Governors at the school. I have been a foundation governor of the school since early 2017 when I was appointed a member of the Interim Executive Board and then Co-Chair of the Shadow Governing Board. Following our “Good” judgement by Ofsted and the successful appointment of Mrs O’Rourke, the school is going from strength to strength. I have also been Vice Chair of Governors at St Mary Magdalene school in Bexhill. My expertise lies in Early Years education and my career as a Deputy Head and a Local Authority consultant was in that field.  I am the Chair of the Admissions Committee and the Link Governor for SEND (Special Needs). I also chair Appeals Panels for the Local Authority and the Diocese. 

I have 3 children who all attended Sacred Heart School and then St Richards and I have 6 grandchildren. 

(Sep 2022)

Term of Office 1.10.20 - 30.09.24

Committee Member for: Admissions

Tony Campbell OBE KSG FRSA (Foundation Governor) Chair for Finance and Property Committee

I was the Principal of St. Richards Catholic College 1988 to 2008.

During the last 15 years of my Headship the College was the highest performing  maintained Secondary school in East Sussex , being placed in the top 5% of schools nationally.

This resulted in the school being rated ‘Outstanding’ overall and in every single category of the OFSTED report 2006.

I have had prominent roles at East Sussex County level, being a member of East Sussex School Education Committee 1992 – 1997 and the Scrutiny Committee for Children’s Services 1997 – 2008.

I was also a member of East Sussex Standards Panel 1992-2008.

At present, I am a Trustee of the Diocese of Arundel and Brighton,  Vice Chair of East Sussex College Group  and Chair of Sussex Coast College, Hastings. 

In recognition of my contribution to education in East Sussex I was awarded an OBE in January 2007.

Following this I was appointed a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts (FRSA).

My contribution to Catholic Education locally and nationally was recognised in 2008 by a Papal Knighthood KSG ( Knight of St. Gregory) one of the highest and most prestigious a Pope can bestow on an individual. 

Term of Office 1.10.20 - 30.09.24


Anne Barry (Foundation Governor)

I am Anne Barry and following a long teaching career in the Secondary sector during which time I served as a Teacher Governor.  I was then invited to become a tutor for trainee teachers on the Graduate Recruitment Programme. 
Since ‘retirement’ some twelve years ago I have been active in both parish and school life - as Adult Formation Co-ordinator and for a time as a governor of a primary school. 
I have also visited many schools across the Arundel and Brighton Diocese as an Education Volunteer for CAFOD (the Catholic Agency for Overseas Development). 
Last summer I was invited by the Diocese to join the Shadow Governing Board and it has been a privilege to do so and to see the school continue to develop and flourish.
I enjoy developing my garden and gaining inspiration by visiting gardens across the country and further afield.

Term of Office 1.10.20 - 30.09.24


Committee Member for: Admissions

Stephen Calladine-Evans (Foundation Governor) Chair of the Curriculum Committee

I am an executive director of Fulcrum Learning (UK) Ltd.  I have a background in school leadership with 31 years of experience. I has been a governor for 15 years at three schools, including Chair of Governors and a Local Leader of Governance for East Sussex County Council.

I facilitate working in partnership across more than forty schools with a range of structures in order to share best practice, resolve issues and promote excellence in education. I am an education consultant, with a focus on the arts, wellbeing, Maths Hub and STEAM in the curriculum; a high-performance coach for senior leaders; partnership coordinator; and both a programme designer and associate facilitator for the Institute of Education (UCL) Leadership programmes. I am a Programme Leader for (Institute of Education) University College London, responsible for Early Career Framework. I am also undertaking an EdD with University of Brighton, researching governance.

Term of Office 23.09.20 - 22.09.24

Stephen Calladine-Evans

Jordan Sims (Parent Governor)

I am delighted to have been recently appointed Parent Governor. I previously held a role on the Shadow Governing Board 2019 to 2020. 


(Local Authority Governor) VACANCY



Gwen Pierson (Foundation Governor)

I have recently been appointed as a  governor since March 2020. Being a mother of two young boys and a practising Catholic, I am proud to be part of a school that thrives to develop children on all three important levels (i.e. spiritual, academic and emotional) and I am looking forward to effectively overseeing the management side of the school with the governing team.

As an ACCA qualified accountant and Finance & Accounting graduate, I bring to the table my solid and relevant financial & commercial skills developed over the past 10 years in various private companies in London and East Sussex. I am currently part of the Parish of the Good Shepherd's Finance department and Finance Committee.

Although my family and I moved from London to St Leonards-on-Sea in 2016, we've quickly fallen in love with its beautiful surroundings and it's friendly and welcoming inhabitants. I am passionate about Faith, education and giving children a good start in life, ensuring they become strong valued citizens.

Term of Office 1.10.20 - 30.09.24


Committee Member for: Finance and Property

Stephen Kimber (Parent Governor)

I am pleased to be appointed as parent governor, I attended St Marys Star of the Sea as a child and a so did my brothers, sisters nieces and nephews over a number of years.

My father was a local headmaster and  my mother was music teacher.

I have seen the school develop over the past years growing from strength to strength.

I am currently a serving police officer and also teach within the Sussex police.

I was previously employed as a IT network consultant and worked for a global airline and have extensively travelled the world installing and supporting the airline industry.

I have represented the county in rugby and the force in skiing in the national championships.

Term of Office 1.10.20 - 30.09.24


Committee Member for: Finance and Property

Gifty Thomas (Foundation Governor)

I was asked to be a foundation governor at the school few months after my children started in the school. I grew up in India and moved to St. Leonards in 2019 with my family. I work as a Registered neonatal nurse in Conquest Hospital. In my role as a foundation governor, I am enjoying the challenge of seeing the work of the school from different perspective and hope to be able to make a positive contribution to the life of the school. 

I am an active member of Parish of the good shepherd and St Marthas Church, Bexhill. As a foundation governor, the schools’ Christian principles and ethos are of great importance to me.

Term of Office: 26.07.22 - 25.07.26

Committee Member for: Curriculum 

IMG_Thu Oct 06 17_17_30 GMT+01_00 2022

Claire 0'Rourke - Head Teacher

Committee Member for: Admissions, Curriculum and Finance and Property

Nyree Thomson (Staff Governor)

Committee Member for: Curriculum

Term of Office 1.10.20 - 30.09.24

Ann Craddock (Clerk to Governors)

Clerk for the Full Governing Board and the Curriculum Committee


Contact emails for the Chair and Vice Chair can be found under the school's contact tab.

Hit enter to search