Message sent from:

A Brief History

Our school has a rich history stretching back to the 1880's when it was founded in rooms underneath St Mary Star of the Sea church in the Old Town of Hastings.

The attractive setting of the present building overlooking the sea would have been a stark contrast for the children who moved into the new school in 1955.

Originally the building had just 7 classrooms, but over nearly 60 years, much has changed and been modernised, whilst still keeping the character and religious aspect of the school intact.

A library was added, providing a fantastic resource of books and other study materials.  One of the existing classrooms was altered to create an activities room with facilities for group meetings, cooking, etc.

Alterations were also made to extend the administrative area of the school.

All of the windows were replaced with double glazed units and the external walls and roof were specially insulated.

At the same time, a new junior cloakroom entrance was built, which enabled an area outside the classrooms on the lower corridor to be used for curriculum purposes.

Two new permanent classrooms were built in 1998 and a security fence was erected to protect the school site.

The grounds and gardens have developed over time with a fenced in wildlife pond area, new play equipment and exterior climbing frames and a woodland classroom with eco projects growing inside.

In 2007 we opened our new extension, housing a computer suite and recently opened a newly constructed entrance area, with new offices for the administration and better facilities in the activity room.

The African Cross

This cross was given to the school community by Mr Doug Robertson, our Vice Chair of Governors, when he moved from St Leonards in December 2013. The cross was given to him in Kenya by the Sisters of Our Lady of the Missions. Please click on the photo to read more about The African Cross.   

Hit enter to search